Missa romana

„Absolutely worth it! This piece is sure to bring joy to choirs.“
– Review in: Kirchenmusik im Bistum Aachen, 9/2016

The Missa romana is a mass composition in Latin with a performance length of around 11 minutes and of average difficulty, making it a well performable piece for Catholic masses. The jazz mass unifies jazzy chords and Latin-American rhythms while using citations from the Gregorian Missa de Angelis, which is still present today in many parishes and is sung with pleasure.

The motives from the Missa de Angelis appear as a central idea in the composition. In four of the five movements, one of the choir voices is the leading voice in the function of a cantus firmus. In the Kyrie it is the bass, in Gloria the alto, in Sanctus the tenor and in Agnus Dei the soprano. This causes a feeling of a steady rise of the cantus firmus voice in the course of the mass cycle. These voices should stand out dynamically and rise above the other voices. The Benedictus is well-balanced and polyphonic.

The intention to present Latin-American dance rhythms adequately to the listening congregation with a catching energy can surely be satisfied by performing this piece with at least one percussion ensemble, making the most of the variety of Latin-American percussion instruments. Furthermore, an enhancement of the line-up is imaginable, using a double bass and a guitar or piano as a harmony instrument. In doing so, the stated dance rhythms serve as an orientation for rhythm and tempo, the chordal accompaniment should be improvised using the given chords.

Because a performance with band isn’t always possible, the Missa romana is laid out so that it can also be performed a capella or with an organ accompaniment.

The Missa romana is dedicated in cordial solidarity to the Catholic church choir of St Josef Böbingen at the Rems and to Peter Hohler. On the 19th of July 2015, the piece was premiered by the church choir St Josef under the leadership of the composer himself, celebrating Peter Hohler’s first mass.

„A very original piece which is very suitable for the young and the young at heart, who have fun with colourful harmonies as well as Latin-American and jazzy rhythms.“
– Michael Hoppe in: KIBA – Kirchenmusik im Bistum Aachen, September 2016

Missa romana - recording by "Dynamis"

Kyrie: Alla rumba

Gloria: Alla samba

Sanctus: Lento con passione - Alla bossa

Benedictus: Medium Waltz

Agnus Dei: liberamente - Alla salsa cubana molto ritmico

Sung by Chor Dynamis, conductor: Karl-Heinz Wenzel. 

This recording was realized for the jubilee-disc "30 Jahre Dynamis" in September 2017. Thank you very much for the allocation of the recordings!

Perusal score - buy sheet music

For a perusal score and the possibility to acquire sheet music of Missa romana please visit the website of the Carus Verlag.

Missa romana

„Sehr lohnenswert! Das Stück wird sicherlich den Chören Freude bereiten.“
– Kirchenmusik im Bistum Aachen, 9/2016

Die Missa romana ist eine Jazzmesse für gemischten Chor in lateinischer Sprache, die mit einer Aufführungsdauer von ca. 11 Minuten und einem mittleren Schwierigkeitsgrad die Aufführbarkeit im katholischen Gottesdienst im Blick hat. Die Messkomposition vereint jazzige Akkordklänge und lateinamerikanische Rhythmen mit Zitaten aus der gregorianischen Missa de Angelis, die in vielen Gemeinden bis heute präsent ist und gerne gesungen wird.

Die Motive aus der Missa de Angelis ziehen sich als roter Faden durch die Komposition, in vieren der fünf Sätze ist eine der Chorstimmen führend im Sinne eines cantus firmus. Es ist dies im Kyrie der Bass, im Gloria der Alt, im Sanctus der Tenor und im Agnus Dei der Sopran, so dass sich in der Klangwirkung ein Anstieg der cantus firmus-Stimme im Verlauf des Messzyklus ergibt. Diese Stimmen sollen sich dynamisch jeweils über die anderen Stimmen erheben. Das Benedictus ist ausgewogen polyphon angelegt.

Der Intention, lateinamerikanische Tanzrhythmen adäquat und für die hörende Gemeinde mit ansteckender Energie darzustellen, wird man sicherlich durch eine Aufführung mit mindestens einer Percussiongruppe gerecht, die die Vielfalt lateinamerikanischer Percussioninstrumente ausnützen kann. Als Bandbesetzung sind darüber hinaus ein Kontrabass und als Harmonieinstrument Gitarre und/oder Klavier denkbar. Dabei dienen die angegebenen Tanzrhythmen als Orientierung für Rhythmus und Tempo, die akkordische Begleitung sollte nach den angegebenen Akkorden improvisiert werden.

Da eine Aufführung mit Band nicht immer möglich sein wird, ist die Missa romana so angelegt, dass sie auch a capella oder mit Orgelbegleitung aufgeführt werden kann. Die Missa romana ist dem katholischen Kirchenchor St. Josef Böbingen an der Rems und Peter Hohler in freundschaftlicher Verbundenheit gewidmet. Das Werk wurde am 19. Juli 2015 anlässlich der Primiz von Peter Hohler vom Kirchenchor St. Josef unter der Leitung des Komponisten uraufgeführt.

„Ein sehr originelles Stück, das sich bestens für junge Chöre und junggebliebene Kirchenchöre eignet, die Spass an farbiger Harmonik und lateinamerikanischen und jazzigen Rhythmen haben.“
– Michael Hoppe, KIBA – Kirchenmusik im Bistum Aachen, September 2016

Missa romana - Aufnahme des "Chor Dynamis"

Kyrie: Alla rumba

Gloria: Alla samba

Sanctus: Lento con passione - Alla bossa

Benedictus: Medium Waltz

Agnus Dei: liberamente - Alla salsa cubana molto ritmico

Es singt der Chor Dynamis unter der Leitung von Karl-Heinz Wenzel. 

Die Aufnahmen sind im Rahmen der Jubiläums-CD "30 Jahre Dynamis" im September 2017 entstanden. Herzlichen Dank für die Bereitstellung der Aufnahmen!

Probepartitur - Noten bestellen

Eine Probepartitur und die Möglichkeit, Noten der Missa romana zu bestellen, finden Sie auf der Seite des Carus Verlags.